Monday, January 9, 2012

Extended deadline - PhD scholarship - characterization of hyperthermopilic enzymes - position 1

This PhD scholarship (position 1) is for 3 years in the project "HOT modifications of hyperthermophilic enzymes and their modulation of enzyme properties and structures", starting from March 1, 2012.

Position 1 is for investigating protein posttranslational modification-function relationships of hyperthermopilic enzymes at Archaea Centre.The selected candidate at the Archaea Centre will: (1) perform biochemical characterization of selected hyperthermophilic proteins and (2) study the functional roles of these proteins in the hyperthermophilic host Sulfolobus islandicus. While the biochemical characterization includes site-directed mutagenesis of the hyperthermophilic enzymes and subsequent characterization of the mutant proteins, in vivo functions of these proteins will be revealed by functional genomics studies of gene deletion mutants and/or over-expression strains. By closely interacting with the Protein Structure group, these investigations will lead to novel knowledge of the relationship between protein posttranslational modifications and their functions. Applicants for the Archaea Centre position should hold an MSc degree in biology, biochemistry or a related field, have strong and broad experience in microbiology. Prior experience with archaeal enzymes or archaeal genetics is an advantage.

Applicants should have good interpersonal and communication skills and fluency in spoken and written English. It is also expected that the successful candidate will maintain a close interaction with other members and PhD students in the Structural Biology and NMR Laboratory. The Archaea Centre and the Structural Biology and NMR Laboratory provide an inspiring working atmosphere in state-of-the-art laboratories at Copenhagen Biocenter. The position is open to both Danish and international applicants.

An assessment committee will be appointed to evaluate the applications. The final selection of two successful candidates will be made by the Head of Department, based on the recommendations of the evaluation committee. The successful candidate will then be requested to formally apply for enrolment as PhD student at the PhD school of Science, University of Copenhagen.

Terms of appointment and payment are in accordance with the agreement between the Danish Ministry of Finance and the Danish Federation of Professional Associations (AC). The starting salary for candidates with an MSc degree will be a minimum of DKK 309.179 per year (April 2011 level) plus pension contribution DKK 42.243 and the possibility to negotiate wage.

The University of Copenhagen wishes to reflect the diversity of society and welcomes applications from all qualified candidates regardless of personal background.

Applicants are requested to submit their applications by filling in relevant parts of the form titled ?Application for PhD scholarship and enrolment to the PhD School" available at

The form, together with appendices requested in the form including a motivating cover letter should be e-mailed as a single PDF-file to Please include in the subject field ?your name - HOT modifications Project 1". In addition a signed hardcopy of the application must also be sent directly to Associate Professor Qunxin She, Department of Biology, Ole Maaløes Vej 5, 2200 København N, Denmark.

The deadline for applications is Friday, January 20, 2011 at 12:00 noon Danish local time.

Applications received after the deadline, or with insufficient documentation or otherwise not complying with the above requirements, may not be considered. It is expected that the successful candidate will be enrolled at the PhD School of the Faculty of Science starting March 1, 2012.

More information about the PhD program can be found at Further information about the position can be obtained via email to Associate Professor Qunxin She, e-mail:
Københavns Universitet er Danmarks ældste universitet, grundlagt 1479, og hører til blandt de største i Norden og de højest rangerende i Europa. Universitetet består af otte fakulteter, som omfatter biovidenskab, farmaceutisk videnskab, humaniora, jura, naturvidenskab, samfundsvidenskab, sundhedsvidenskab og teologi.
Frist: 20-01-2012
Arbejdsgiver: Det Naturvidenskabelige Fakultet

No comments: